Katlego Awards

Katlego is the Sotho word for success. The Katlego Awards were conceived to recognize excellence and good practice in the NGO sector. The awards give recognition to organizations and individuals who have been out-standing in the fight against poverty or contributing to development in South Africa. 

  • The purpose should be primarily to encourage, recognize and reward excellence amongst organizations and individuals in the Development Sector. 
  • Other key objectives are to:

    – To recruit new members to SANGOCO
    – Build the profile and image of SANGOCO

Nomination process 

  • Nominations for all categories except, the Spirit of Hope Award, is to be coordinated at provincial level, through the SANGOCO regions in order to facilitate optimal participation. The Spirit of Hope Award nominations will be made by PECs.
  • The nominations process must open at least six months prior to the National Awards Ceremony, and should run for at least ten weeks.
  • The provinces will compile, screen, and shortlist all nominations for adjudication by the provincial panels.
  • Nominations forms will be accompanied with information on the background to the Awards, criteria, selections process, etc.
  • This information will be provided in writing in English, and accompanied by audio cassettes in local languages, to be used in the awareness raising workshops / Roadshows to be coordinated by the PECs.
  • Local print and electronic media must be used to drive publicity and awareness at grassroots.
  • Adverts calling for submissions must be placed in key provincial and national newspapers, as well as in internal publications of SANGOCO, its members, and its other partners, as well as in relevant websites.
  • Mail shots must be done of all relevant databases.
  • Nominations forms should be available in SANGOCO, Local Government and Provincial Government offices, and this must be monitored for wastage.
  • A database of all nominations should be compiled for further reference.

Awards Categories 

Two Tiered Awards

– There will be recognition and reward at provincial and national level for all categories, except the Spirit of Hope Award.
– Provincial adjudication panels will award 1st, 2nd and 3rd places for each category. These should all receive a certificate and a trophy. The 1st place winner should will R1 000 and would go forward as a semi-finalist in that category to the national level.
– The national adjudication panels will then select 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners for each category. The Spirit of Hope Award winners will be chosen by the NEC.


– The provincial and national adjudication panels will comprise relevant experts from Government, Donors, Business, and the Development Community.